Settings Wizard

sharepoint migration settings wizard

Authentication

  • Authentication Method

Document Versions

  • Copy all document versions
    Possible values: True/False
    Default value: False
    This option defines if the tool has to download all document versions when migrating files from SharePoint to File System.
  • Filename Schema for Versions
    Default value: $VersionFilename$-V_$VersionNumber$
    This option allows the user to define the schema of the file naming for downloaded document versions.
    Scenario:

    • The user downloads a SharePoint document which has 3 document versions (1.0, 2.0, 2.1) and the file name is MyReport.pdf
    • The option “Copy all document versions” is set to “True”
    • The “Filename Schema for Versions” has the value “$VersionFilename$-V_$VersionNumber$”
    • Result: the tool downloads all three versions to the File System. The file names of the downloaded files are MyReport-V_1.0.pdf, MyReport_V-2.0.pdf and MyReport-V_2.1.pdf

Handle Invalid Characters

  • Invalid Characters (2010 / 2013)
    Possible Values / Format: Comma separated list of characters
    Default Value%, *, :, ?, /, \, |, <, >, “, {, }, &, ~, #
    This setting option is used, when migrating files from File System to SharePoint on-premises (2010, 2013). The tool removes / replaces the invalid characters during migration the files to SharePoint.
  • Invalid Characters (SharePoint Online)
    Possible Values / Format: Comma separated list of characters
    Default Value: %, *, :, ?, /, \, |, <, >, “, #
    This setting option is used, when migrating files from File System to SharePoint Online / OneDrive. The tool removes / replaces the invalid characters during migration the files to SharePoint.
  • Replacement for invalid Characters
    Possible Values: a single character or a character string
    Default Value:  _
    The tool uses this value for replacing invalid characters (the list of invalid characters is configurable)

Merging behavior

  • Merging Behavior
    Possible values: “Never overwrite an existing file”, “Overwrite only if the source file is newer” and “Always overwrite an existing file”
    Default Value: “Overwrite only if the source file is newer”
    This setting defines, if the tool should overwrite existing files during merging local folder structure with existing structure in SharePoint. If you are going to use the tool for incremental migration, this setting option may be very helpful.

Misc

  • Allow Client Side Buffering during upload
    Possible values: True / False
    Default value:  True
    This setting determines whether client-side buffering can be used when uploading files to SharePoint.
  • Default value for mandatory text fields
    Possible values: a single character or a character string
    Default value:  n/a
    This setting defines a value which the tool uses for mandatory text field (during bulk upload files to SharePoint)
  • Keep original Created and Modified Dates
    Possible values: True / False
    Default value: True
    This setting determines whether the tool should retain the original Created and Last Modified Dates of the files.
  • Display Metadata dialog before file Upload
    Possible values: True / False
    Default value:  False
    This setting determines whether the tool should display a dialog for setting Metadata when uploading files to the target Document Library.

 


Home / Documentation / Settings